50 Days to Change

week-oneIt’s Week One – Day One of 50-Day Lifestyle Challenge based on the book Spiritual Secrets to Weight Loss. I’m so grateful for the renewed mind and determined spirit.

We start off Week One with Know God. It may seem funny that the author, Dr. Kara Davis, starts the week not with writing goals or even shopping for food but Know God. Day One is: Starting Out with God. There is scripture, a prayer, and healthy lifestyle fact to inform and motivate you. The rest of the week is similar to today and maintains your focus on the theme of knowing God. So, I have my journal for reflection and food diary to purposefully write down what and when I eat. I’m still monitoring my sleep pattern and exercise.

It is my belief that everything should start with God. In fact the Bible says,But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” (Matthew 6:33 KJV) Many times in the hustle and bustle of life many of us seek God after the fact; mostly when things go awry or tragedy happens. The context of the scripture let’s us know that we don’t have to stress about things we cannot change nor the simple things of what to eat, wear, etc. God knows that we have need of them and He takes care of His own as loving parents do for their children. So I prepare my mind, body and spirit for this journey.

It’s raining today so I’ll be looking online to my YouTube channels for exercises I can do. Oh, by the way, since my last post I ended up in the hospital. My left leg began (mid-calf on to my foot) swelling badly. I’m not going to allow this to stop me from exercising. I know that there’s something that I can do to meet my goals for the week.

SMART Goals for Week One

  • Exercise Goal: 20 – 30 minutes per day
  • Eating: Plan meals
  • Maintain my journal and logs (included is posting here at the end of each week)

Interested in becoming part of the group? Great! Email me today and I’ll send you all of the information. Have a great week.

Scripture retrieved from Biblegateway.com
Photo: Spiritual Secrets to Weight Loss by Kara Davis, MD used by permission.

Other books by Dr. Davis: Spiritual Secrets to a Healthy Heart, The Weigh of Life Journal, and more. You can learn more about Dr. Kara Davis by visiting her website www.drkaradavis.com

Leave a Reply

