It’s Time for a Change

Recently I had a conversation with Dr. Kara Davis, MD about her book Spiritual Secrets to Weight Loss. SSWL coverI had begun reading it and found it profoundly empowering and changed the way I thought about my weight loss and overall lifestyle changes. It’s interesting to realize how God will answer your prayer, even in your frustration, doubt, and even discouragement. While reading the book I notice some key elements. First and foremost it starts with a covenant.

Now we all make commitments in one way or another. But the word covenant triggered something different in me. I was, and am, committed to my living a healthier lifestyle. If you recall, I mentioned in an earlier post that I felt that something was missing and that I was determined to find it. One of the things was a covenant. What’s the difference between commitment and covenant? Good question!

The term “covenant” is of Latin origin (con venire), meaning a coming together (Bible Study Tools) whereas the term “commitment’ is of Anglo-french origin (commettement), meaning the committing of oneself, pledge, promise; an obligation, an engagement (Online Etymology Dictionary). So basically, in order for me to be successful in reaching my goals I must remember that I’m in a covenant relationship with my Architect, Master Designer, the author and finisher of my faith – God through Jesus Christ. (See Hebrews 12:2 and 1 Corinthians 6:19). Somewhere along the line “I” was doing it.

In many cases, no matter what the change, many of us fall into the “I got this” mode and leave God out of the equation or we’re expecting God to do all the work as if some great miracle is going to happen and “Presto chango – poof!” everything is better. The fact of the matter is that we need to integrate the two by making up in our minds and hearts that we are going to allow God to work in and through us to achieve the goal(s).

This leads me to the next crucial element is what Dr. Davis entitled, Know God. Shouldn’t you know the person(s) you are in covenant with? Of course you should! You don’t go into a marriage or even dating without knowing the person. Granted, you may meet them for the first time and you click, but you have to get to know them before you commit to anything. Well, at least you should be along that frame of mind. The one thing I’ve always stressed is that this isn’t about religion but relationship and God desires us to get past knowing about Him and getting to know HIM.

Now before I go further I’d like to invite you to check out a preview of her book. I’m inviting you to check it out because each of the elements that are especially meaningful to me are components of the book that is broken down in weeks of the 50-day Challenge. Included in each week is information and scripture that empowers, inspires and informs.

As I read I’m putting together weekly action plans based on SMART goals and during the coming weeks I’ll be speaking with professionals to partner with me to provide insight in other areas. In reflecting on my original goals I realize I actually didn’t do too bad. I will admit that I feel bad for allowing my weight gain to distract and derail my journey. But in all honesty, this turned out to be a good thing.

When a train derails, like the Amtrak derailment in Philadelphia, investigators come to find out what happened. They look at all the parts of the train, they speak to witnesses, the engineer(s), conductors, etc. They arrive at the scene and look for clues. It’s not that different than investigating a crime. Well, in that same light, my “derailment” caused me to investigate where I went wrong. Was I going too fast? Expecting too much? Leaving things out? Doing too much? I needed to be still and know God. (Psalm 46:10)

I can go on and on … and on … and on, but I won’t; at least not for now. Suffice it to say that I’m excited about what has transpired in the past week or so. So much so that I’ve made the commitment to be in covenant with God concerning this change like never before. In the book there is a covenant agreement that you sign. I’ll officially sign it on June 1st. I’ll explain why. While reading and preparing for the interview with Dr. Davis I started making plans to start an active accountability group. This group will be private and part of a members only section on the broadcast blog and on Facebook. I’ll be unveiling the group this week on the show. If you’re interested in joining you can email me or you can just check out the blog post.

In a derailment people are devastated; in some cases lives are lost. Some may become emotionally and/or physically challenged if not totally disabled. Now this may seem to be an extreme example, but it is so close to my heart. This is because a part of my life died, a part of me became emotionally and physically inactive. But here again it worked out for my good. Paul, in speaking to the churches in Corinth reminded them that he dies daily (see 1 Corinthians 15:31). I also think of this scripture,

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live ; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me. Galatians 2:20 KJV

I encourage anyone and everyone reading this, don’t get so fast or so distracted by things that you experience a derailment. But if you do, know that it’s not the end. As long as you have life you have opportunity for a rebound and that may lead to your slam dunk. (Sorry for the basketball analogy — I just really love sports.)

ANYWAY…we’re going to be just fine. Again, I’d like to invite you to be a part of our pilot program based on Dr. Davis’ book. You can hear the interview that I spoke about here. I’m hoping to add to the conversation with a Q&A that will be posted at a later date. Don’t forget to check out the book. Make the investment in yourself or someone else. Your ROI will be awesome!

Have a great week and remember,

I wish above all things that you prosper and be in health, even as your soul prospers (3 John 2)

Leave a Reply

