Holy Week @DlightfulDiva

This is the beginning of Holy or Passion Week. It’s usually a busy week with last minute shopping, meal planning and here of late, speaking engagements. Over the past few years I’ve been invited to participate in Maundy Thursday or Good Friday services. Let’s not forget the basket making and the scavenger/egg hunt. This year much of my busy schedule has been cancelled.(Yes!) I will actually get to rest and enjoy being with my family. This is going to be an especially precious time for me. My family has dealt with a lot over the past year and to see us still standing strong is awesome. It’s time to celebrate!

We all know that emotional stress can trigger negative thoughts and behaviors. I’m excited to say that my emotional eating has curved quite a bit. This week I decided to take a break from some things, including my counseling. I don’t want mere maintenance. My desire is complete eradication of thoughts, behaviors and the like. No, I’m not saying that I will be perfect – free from sin, don’t do any wrong kinda thing. Not at all. I’m just sick and tired of doing the same ol’ thing and realizing I’m getting very little results.

Many times we self medicate with food, OTC & Rx medication, alcohol or other devices. Other times we move forward in an area of our lives and it seems as though we can’t go any further. It’s like working out and after a while you seem to plateau. Your goal(s) are still out there to reach but you seem stuck. One of the things that I keep in front of me is to do something different or just press a little harder.

Press towards the markPaul said it best in Philippians 3. This is what it says to me,

Nope, I haven’t arrived and I can’t do this thing on my own. BUT what I can do is continue to strive towards accomplishing the goals that God called me to and has set before me . This is a God through Jesus Christ thing.

So as I help my daughter with meal planning and preparation, Holy Week activities and the like I am encouraged to know that I will achieve my goals. There’s only a few weeks left before my challenge is officially over. Yet wisdom speaks to the need to stay challenged to not recidivate.

I want to encourage you this week to hold on to the goals that are before you and not let go. Be like Jacob and don’t let go until you’re blessed, your goal is achieved, you get what you need, etc. (See Genesis 32:22-31)

I realize that many of my readers do not ascribe to the same faith or belief system. But on this 29th day of March, Palm Sunday, I must attest to the belief that God through Jesus Christ is triumphant in all things. Because of this, I believe that you and I are (regardless of what it looks or feels like) triumphant as well.

Yes, this will be an awesome week and I’m excited about the breakthroughs that will manifest. There are breakthroughs with your name on it; that is if you believe.

Rejoice greatly, O Daughter of Zion! Shout aloud, O Daughter of Jerusalem! Behold, your King comes to you; He is [uncompromisingly] just and having salvation Zec9.9[triumphant and victorious], patient, meek, lowly, and riding on a donkey, upon a colt, the foal of a donkey. Zechariah 9:9 AMP

I will be offline for about a week or so … so have a wonderful and powerful week. Feel free to let me know how your week went. If possible I’ll share the extraordinary events – even if it’s just me resting. 🙂

“I wish above all things that you prosper and be in health even as your soul prospers.”

Leave a Reply

