If You Give Your Nani a …

My adorable grand children have had me read them the entire series of books about giving an animal some type of food. It all started Give-a-mouse-a-cookiewith the acclaimed book, “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie” by Laura Joffe-Numeroff. Subsequently I have actively narrated every single one; with all the theatrics and voice changes this Nani could muster.

Cat cupcakeOther books include:

  • If You Give a Pig a Pancake
  • If You Give a Cat a Cupcake
  • If You Give a Moose a Muffin
  • If You Give a Dog a Donut

I think you get the picture.

In the midst of this delightful experience I realize my grand children’s insatiable ability to eat … and eat… and eat. But they also like to share. So, with usually open arms they pick and choose what they want to share. “Here Nani, you can have some,” the quaint voice of my 6 year old grand daughter speaks after biting a piece of chicken that I think she really doesn’t like. Come to think of it, she’s really not a big meat eater anyway. Give her fruits, veggies, and her soy milk and she’s a happy camper. Her siblings, on the other hand, devour food like there won’t be any tomorrow, especially my g’boys.

Now all of the members of my GTeam (which is what I call my clan of grand kids) are very supportive of me eating healthier. So in the good fun of the books we have started our own, “If You Give …” saga. One of my favorites is, “If you give Nani a bottled water she will add a Gater-aide packet to it and then drink it.” That was during my time of not liking or wanting to drink water. Another is, “If you give your Nani a cookie … well, she’ll just want more.” To see the face of my oldest grand daughter when she said this was hilarious. But I still attempted to chase her around the house. That was then … this is now.

So I asked them to come up with the ending of, “If you give your Nani  …” and this is how they finished it

  • If you give Nani water … She’ll actually drink it.
  • If you give Nani money … she’ll spend it on shoes.
  • If you give Nani an omelet she’ll want spinach
  • If you give Nani a salad she’ll give away the tomatoes. (Nope … they take it. They always take my cherry tomatoes.)

It’s really cool to see how my grands notice different things about me and how I’m striving to live my life. They are so attentive that they even know what brands I like, even downthe best mouse cookie to the type of teas I like for my Kureg. They know I don’t do sugar: Truvia or honey only, please. The funniest part of the whole thing is that they love the way that I’m cooking and always want me to cook for them. So, I now give cooking classes to them. Move over Uncle Ben’s and Aunt Jemimah, Chef Nani is in the kitchen. We’re sampling and experimenting with foods, flavors, and all types of things. I even got my oldest grand daughter, who hates spinach, to eat it … raw. Yeah! I did that.

Now it’s your turn. If I give you (your favorite food) what would you want next? Feel free to leave a comment or hit me up on Twitter. What food can you NOT live without and what do you eat or drink with it. This should be fun.

Have a great weekend! And as always…

I wish above all things that you prosper and be in (good) health, even as your soul prospers. 3 John 2

Leave a Reply

