Cereal Killer

breakfast cerealThey say that breakfast is the most important mean of the day. Well, I can eat breakfast for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is comfort food, especially when I’m up late into the wee hours of the morning (like I am tonight). The good thing is that I don’t resort to eating junk food. I eat cereal – hot or cold. I guess you can that I’m a cereal killer. Give me a bowl of cereal and I’m good. Better yet, a warm bowl or cup of Quaker Oatmeal is soothing and quite satisfying.

My favorite cereals are Raisin Brand, Total, and Special K. And, if you’ve been reading since I began my journey, I love oatmeal. From time to time Ikellogg-cereal-brands like to enjoy a cereal bar. I try to use it as a replacement for snacking on sweets. Funny thing is that the cereal bars seem extra sweet since I’ve cut down my sweet intake. Now that’s an interesting discovery.

In my quest to living a healthier lifestyle I’ve been doing a lot of reading and have had the opportunity to interview experts in the field; from medical doctors to nutritionists and even health coaches who have been where I’m at. In fact, I’m currently reading a book by one of these coaches. I’ll be telling you more about that in the near future. So, why do I do all of this? I’m glad you asked. There are a few reasons why I take such care during this journey.

One is because knowledge is power. They say Wheaties is the breakfast of champions. Since I’m more than a conqueror and a champion lover of breakfast (lunch and dinner) it’s important for me to educate myself about how my body works and the links between faith, food, emotions and daily activity.  (I was hoping to find other F words to use, but oh well.) The other reason is because as I educate myself I can pass along the knowledge to you and others.

This week I’ve been studying vision – physical and psychological. With this I’m paying more attention to my daily activities and how that relates to my eating habits. We all know that exercise and proper rest is also important to maintaining a healthy lifestyle and promotes digestive and overall health. Needless to say that when I stay up late my body is working overtime when it should be resting. Not a good thing. I’ve also noticed other patterns that I’m developing such as being more active. Now that the weather is getting warmer I’m spending more time outside walking.

bob-zahn-it-says-i-am-a-workaholic-if-found-send-on-vacation-cartoonNow to all of you work-a-holics out there please pay attention. You’re (We’re) not doing ourselves favors by working around the clock and neglecting our bodies’ need of R & R. We need to eat healthy, stay active (exercise), and enjoy our lives. Balance is the key.

So as I sit here enjoying my cup of oatmeal while watching Iron Chef America I’m thinking about how comforting breakfast food really is. I hear chefs and others mention this but it never really hit home until today. Yes, I’m a cereal killer and I’m a champion breakfast eater. Thank God I’m not eating pancakes, eggs, bacon, and all of the other usual things that I would normally eat.

No matter what you face – losing weight, promotion on your job, or even going back to school remember, “Continuous effortnot strength or intelligence – is the key to unlocking our potential.” (W. Churchill) You can do anything that you set your mind to. Now, start your day healthy and have a productive day!

 

Leave a Reply

