Holy Casserole, Batman!

Holy Casserole BatmanWell, I think I’ve read it all. Or have I? I’m reading and researching information on food and nutrition. I’m fascinated by the science of it and then learning how to apply it in my own life. Does this mean that I’m a test dummy? Well, I guess I am. It’s better than being a guinea pig. You know, I can pick and choose what I will or won’t do during this process. Prayerfully, I’m making the right decisions.

Over the past few days I’ve been reading about obesity. I shared part of my findings with my accountability partner and on the broadcast. The information was daunting and engaging all at the same time. We know that obesity is the leading cause of death in America. It’s linked to everything from depression to hypertension to stroke and heart disease. The numbers are staggering. Little did I know that the majority of those who are overweight or obese are Christians. Holy casserole, Batman! How could this be?

Well, it’s really not that hard to figure out. I’ve experienced Sunday afternoon lunch at the local Golden Coral. We strive to get there before the “church crowd”; which comes in around 1:30. Any time after that you can forget it! The sad thing is that we joke about our eating habits like it’s an expectation. But it’s not just the eating out. It’s the snacking, brunch or even lunch between services. And in many churches in my area you don’t get just a light meal to hold you over, you get 3 courses – salad, entree and dessert. Don’t forget the juice, soda, coffee and condiments. garfield-sleeping-on-couch

By the time that second service comes around everyone gets what I call the “Garfield syndrome.” You eat and then you sleep. Why not? You’re eating fried chicken, collard greens, macaroni and cheese, rolls, Kool Aid (or sweet tea), and cake. Prayer breakfasts, luncheons and church picnics are full of comfort foods that without proper moderation and exercise lead to health issues.

As I look at my own weight loss efforts I see such a greater picture. I’m not just losing weight for myself. This is so much bigger than that. I want more than just to shed a few extra pounds and inches. I want to educate, equip, empower and encourage others who are striving for a healthier lifestyle. This isn’t a fad diet. It’s a lifestyle change. As challenging as it may be I must continue to fight the good fight of faith and resist temptations of comfort foods and strive to continue doing what I know is right for me (my mind, body and spirit).

So to all those who are following and striving for the same thing – hang in there. We’re going to do this together. To the “great crowd of witnesses” pray with us, encourage us and above all else, challenge us (in love). I’m so grateful to God for what I’m learning and experiencing. This experience has allowed me to connect with people who have “been there and done that”, those striving for more and those who are just checking things out. And yes, there are the haters too. But that’s ok. I’m worth the fight … and so are you. I’ll be back to finish this later.

Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

