Sticktoitiveness is a Real Word

Growing up I use to hear the word sticktoitiveness. It was first introduced to me when I was in elementary school. I was one of those kids who had potential and passion but no sticktoitiveness.

Sticktuitiveness – the quality that allows someone to continue trying to do something even though it is difficult or unpleasant.

sticktoitiveness quoteOne must have stick-to-it-iveness in order to persevere through change and challenges. It’s necessary to achieve your goals. A struggle for me most of my life was to stay focused enough to complete a task. With the right accountability, direction, and structure I’m right on point. However, when traumatic events or unexpected situations arise I had a tendency of veering off the road and heading into a ditch. Change isn’t pleasant, but it is the most constant thing in our lives.

get to itAs I, we, find out what weighs us down emotionally, spiritually and physically we much have sticktoitiveness to exercise even when we don’t feel like it, pray when emotionally drained, trust in the midst of confusion, and rest in the will and word of God knowing that He never fails.

Why am I discussing this? Remember yesterday I stated that I had to come up with a schedule? Well, I did. I got so fed up with things and felt so over whelmed that I went on an email rant to my coach. What a wonderful thing that was. Yes, it really was. I released things that I had inside and I did my schedule. The one thing that seemed so challenging became to flow like water from the faucet. My schedule went from the time I get up to the time I go to bed. It was a getting-back-into-shapegeneral look at how I want my day to look. It’s the ideal.

Now, the question becomes, ‘How do I make it applicable?’ Now it’s time for me to take a look at it to see how realistic it is. Change is challenging. Positive change, however, is something I’m looking for in myself first. I do not want to be one teaching others and I myself be “a castaway” as Paul puts it in Romans. So on today, I am productive and confident. I will complete what I have started and patient with myself when things don’t go just as planned. sticktoitiveness

…being confident of this very thing, that He who hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the Day of Jesus Christ. Philippians 1:6

If God doesn’t give up on me (us) why should I (we). Stay encouraged. Lose the weight and strive to live your life … by design.

2 thoughts on “Sticktoitiveness is a Real Word

Leave a Reply

