Right on Time!

Come and get it!

Come and get it!

Good morning! It’s snowing outside. Come on over for a good snowball fight later. It would be fun to see some adults wreck havoc on these kids with me. That will get the ol’ cardio going won’t it? What time should I expect you? I’ll make the hot cocoa and some nice healthy goodies. I’ll also have some rubbing alcohol, and remedies for those ol’ muscles and joints. Now if not today, definitely tomorrow, o’kay?

Well, I got a late start. Cold weather just causes you to stay snuggled in your bed with all kinds of comfortable pillows and blankets. So I slept in until about 8:30. Remember yesterday I told you that I’ve been challenged to create a schedule. Well, I thought I had one. But this, my mentor tells me, must include everything: personal, ministry, eating, etc. It must include the time I’m up until the time I go to sleep. Then, she says, we’re going to work on what I actually get accomplished.

One of the challenges in personal or professional developmental change paradigm is staying motivated, committed and focused. Setting priorities is crucial, as well as understanding yourself enough to be patient. I had already begun taking a critical look at my time, so having my coach mention this was right on time.

While doing research for the broadcast and developing in-person training I found the Fisher Transition Curve diagram. fisher-transition-curve-2012bb(1) I had to laugh at this. I saw myself in several places during various times in my life. And what’s funny, I learn this stuff in my Psychology courses for my degree in counseling but when you put it into practice it becomes practical not theoretical. (Hm, I may become a good therapist after all.)

At any rate, I’m going to be working on this today and tomorrow. But this is my schedule for today. big time

8:30 am. up for the day

9:00 am.- 10:00 blogging

11:00 am – 2:00 pm. Broadcast
(preparation, production, post production)

3:30 pm – First wave of grands come home from school

4:00 pm. Second and last wave of grands are home from school.

4:15 – 5:00 pm Go outside and play

5:15 – 6:00 pm Homework time

6:15 -6:30 Preparing for dinner (try to have dinner ready for family to sit down and eat at 6:30)

7:00 – 9:00 finish homework, get ready for bed, family time.

9:30 – Kids in bed.

11:30 I’m in bed.

Wow! Writing that just made me tired. LOL But that’s a general look of my day. So what happens when things get crazy? You really don’t want to know. That’s a blog for another day and time. For today, my priority is to work on my schedule by carefully looking at what I actually do during a given time. As I make note, I’m sure I’ll realize time wasted as well as time fulfilled. Remember, my goal isn’t just to lose physical weight, but emotional and spiritual weight as well.

The process continues …

I Am Affirmation

Leave a Reply

